20 Years of Working Out: My Secret to Staying in Shape

You can still be healthy and in shape without six-pack abs

Darius Foroux
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

I’ve been working out regularly since I was 17. That’s 20 years. I can still wear my first suit that I bought in college.

Look, I’m no Instagram model, nor do I have the ambition to look that way. I honestly don’t get why all these people are obsessed with the way they look.

You can still be healthy and in shape without six-pack abs.

I struggled with my weight in my teens. But once I figured out this, I managed to keep the same weight and improve my strength / stamina.

The key to consistently working out is making sure you have an emotional payoff.

This is what makes it easier to be consistent with your exercise. By doing something small each day that made you feel good. Even when things get tough and busy.

My routine is simple and I’ve never followed any “scientific” protocols. My philosophy is that simple is better than perfect.

I work out 4 to 5 days a week. And I either do cardio or a strength training day. Never both on the same day. I always feel good during my workouts and after. I never destroy myself.

--

--

Darius Foroux

I’m no longer publishing on Medium. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy