How to Become a Fearless Investor

5 common reasons most people fear investing and a practical way of overcoming the fear

Darius Foroux
5 min readMay 15, 2024

--

My heart is racing. My hands are so wet from my sweat that I can’t even get a good grip on the computer mouse.

After hearing many stories from people who lost money, I feared investing. But I still to get in on the game. I wanted to get rich badly.

But my stomach felt like it was inside out. I collected all the courage inside me. Then, I finally did it. Boom! I bought my first stocks.

This was in 2007, and I STILL remember how I felt. That’s how scary investing is. Over the years, I started to control my emotions to a degree that I don’t even feel the slightest itch when I invest my money.

That’s because I found ways to overcome my fear of investing.

What follows is a list of 5 common reasons most people fear investing and a practical way of overcoming the fear.

1. Fear of losing money

The fear of losing money is a primal instinct, deeply ingrained in our psyche. It’s tied to our survival instincts. After all, for much of human history, losing resources could mean life or death.

--

--

Darius Foroux

I’m no longer publishing on Medium. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy