Reconnecting With Old Friends

“If you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.”

Darius Foroux
3 min readOct 21, 2022

--

Muhammad Ali once remarked that friendship is “not something you learn in school.”

He was spot on. It seems like every person you meet has a different definition of friendship. Some people think true friendship means going out to parties or events together. Others think it’s about exchanging favors.

To me, friendship is about wanting the best for the other. I feel that way about my brother and parents. I also feel that way about many other people I know.

It’s not necessarily about spending a lot of time with friends. One of my good friends, Chris, lives in Copenhagen and I haven’t seen him for five years. But we often talk once a month.

Then there’s my best friend, Quincy, and we talk a few times a week. And we see each other often. But there are also a few old friends I lost touch with.

Making an effort to stay friends

I didn’t always make an effort to maintain friendships. In my book, What It Takes to Be Free, I shared the story of how one of my friends got upset because I didn’t respond to a birthday invitation in time.

--

--

Darius Foroux

I’m no longer publishing on Medium. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy