There’s No Way Around Hard Work

Sometimes we fall for the promise of a shortcut

Darius Foroux
3 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

When I started my first business ten years ago, I remember many internet marketers were selling Google ads courses and books. They made it look like everyone could become a millionaire by slapping up some Google ads.

You just had to follow their tactics. That was all! Sweet deal, right?

Well, here’s what happened behind the scenes. While those internet marketers were selling products about Google ads, they were doubling down on Facebook ads.

This happens all the time. Info products that are built around tactics and hacks are always about stuff that worked in the past. If you bought those Google ads courses back then, you were being misled. The real action happened on Facebook.

In fact, Facebook is where those internet marketers got their traffic from!

Hacks are temporary

I’ve bought some of those older courses on Google ads but I didn’t find them useful. When everyone starts using the same hacks and tactics, they no longer work. In fact, when you try to go for the shortcut, you actually end up wasting your time; which will only set you back.

You’re always looking for the next tactic. Right now, you see a lot of info products around running ads on Instagram, YouTube, Amazon, or making money on Medium. It’s the same thing.

Internet marketers show you how they made money on a platform, and they promise you the same. “Look, I made $312.348 with IG ads!”

Congratulations! If you found an oil well, why are you selling info products?

They know we’re attracted to those hacks. I’ve been there too. I remember when I started writing, I looked for something that would make it easier.

As you know, there’s no such thing. You only become better by working on your skills.

Skills get you what you want

Look, one thing I can share from personal experience is that building a business or career is HARD. It takes a lot of time and energy to learn new skills so you can provide value.

--

--

Darius Foroux

My new book, The Stoic Path to Wealth (Porfolio / Penguin), is coming out July 16th: stoicpathtowealth.com