What Happens When You Start Your Own Business

No, you probably won’t get rich overnight

Darius Foroux

--

Life is change. That can be hard to accept, which is why some people are drawn to philosophies like Stoicism that help us become more resilient.

Our careers are also subject to change. It doesn’t matter if you’re ready or not: You can suddenly lose your job or income source. And I’m not saying this to scare anybody. That’s just a trend I’ve been observing more often in recent years.

The world changes really fast and that requires us to adapt. For example, I recently read an article in the Wall Street Journal that featured Ramona Wilmarth, a 39-year-old hairstylist from California.

She left her job at a salon during the Covid Pandemic because work became difficult for her when the state placed tighter restrictions on the face-to-face service industry.

So Wilmarth bought some equipment and started visiting clients outside their homes. Eventually, she’d visit about five clients a week and have another 15 clients on her front porch. And the best thing? Her monthly net income is 35% to 40% higher than her pay at the salon. She even gives discounts to clients who can’t pay full price!

“This pandemic has helped me blossom,” she said an interview. “It pushed me to do something I…

--

--

Darius Foroux

I write about productivity, habits, decision making, and personal finance. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy